What Is a “Class” in Rift?

Many people seem to be confused as to what exactly is a “class” in Rift.

In fact, the term “class” is often used in error to refer to what is called in Rift a “calling”. The term “class” is a hangover from older MMORPGs (Massively Multi-player Online Roll Playing Games), and is replaced with “callings” in Rift, which gives the game much improved game-play and flexibility over previous MMORPGs.

What are the different “Callings” in Rift?

In Rift, there are 4 main callings, namely: Mage, Rogue, Cleric and Warrior.

What is the “soul” system?

The current version of Rift gives a choice of 8 different “souls” to choose from. There are likely to be more in future versions of the game. Players can equip up to 3 souls at once with various abilities, by unlocked the core abilities of the chosen Rift calling.

This is done by spending your skill points in a “soul tree”.

To begin with, no calling within the game has any default capabilities. Instead, you can expand your characters abilities by adding skill points to a “soul tree” from which you can select which abilities you want for each of your souls.

At your class trainer, you are able to change souls (for a small price) and you can buy as many as four different combinations of souls.

Within each calling, there are 8 (with more to come) “souls” from which you can chose from. Players can unlock every soul for their calling and can equip 3 souls at once.

The great thing about this different way of getting abilities is that no 2 characters will ever be the same, since each one will have obtained different abilities via their own unique soul tree.

Getting A Unique Character

The whole idea of a “soul” system makes Rift greatly different from earlier MMORPGs. To give you some idea of how the different combinations can make for an immensely more interesting game, let’s go through an example. We’ll take a look at the Rogue calling.

For the Rogue, there are 8 primary souls, as follows: Ranger, Assassin, Bard, Saboteur, Riftstalker, Nightblade, Blade Dancer, and Marksman.

Most veterans of MMORPGs would expect Blade Dancer and Assassin a typical Rogue: the Assassin specializes in poison and sneak attacks, and the Blade Dancer specializes in larger weapons and dodging attacks.

However, when constructing your Rogue character, in addition, you have the choice of up to 6 more souls to choose from when putting together your Rogue. For example:

– The Nightblade deals fire damage instead of physical damage

– The Saboteur can use bombs as a main weapon

– The Bard can inflict moderate damage, has mild group healing capabilities

– The RIftstalker has multiple threat capabilities and self-generated shields.

So, from these examples, you can see that your Rogue character can get attributes and abilities that you wouldn’t necessarily associate with the Rogue calling. And to make things even more interesting, you can even combine several classes together, unlocking more and more talents by putting more talent points into a single soul!